Cookies

This site uses cookies. By accessing this site you are consenting to the use of these cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use, visit More About Cookies

19. Delete A User Account

side gif Recommended:  Free Scan To Fix and Optimize Your Windows PC

Deleting a user account will only become necessary when the person concern either stops using your computer or, if you are a business, leaves your employ.

Once the user account has been deleted the person to whom it belonged can no longer access the computer using his/her log on credentials.

To delete a user account proceed as follows:

Important Note:

 If you are the computer Administrator it is not possible to Delete your own account without first creating another Administrator account.

  1. Click the Start button.
  2. From the Start menu, Click the Control Panel option.
  3. In Control panel, Click the User Account icon.
  4. The User Account window will open.
  5. Look at the Make changes to your account options and, Click Manage another account.
  6. The User Account Control will ask you for permission to continue. If you are the Administrator Click the Continue button. If you are not the Administrator then you will need to obtain, from the administrator, the user name and password before you can continue.
  7. In the Choose the account you want to change window, Click the name of the user you wish to delete.
  8. The Make changes to account window will now appear.
  9. From the list of options, Click on the Delete the account option.
  10. You will now be asked if you want to keep the files relating to this account. If the files are important then Click the Keep Files button.
  11. Keeping the files enables windows to automatically save the contents of the desktop, documents, favourties, music, pictures and video folders that relate to this account.
  12. If the files are not important then Click the Delete Files button.
  13. You will be asked to Confirm that you actually wish to delete this User Account. If you still want to Delete it then Click the Delete Account button.
  14. Once the Delete Account button has been pressed the relevant account will be deleted for good.